Подробнее на сайте: https://foremostnews.ruhttps://allnightnews.ru
https://newsfire.ru https://newsdeliver.ruGo to top of page https://mirrornews.ruhttps://unonews.ruhttps://newsentire.ruhttps://bundlenews.ruhttps://newsplain.ru https://principalnews.ru
https://newscatch.ruGo to top of page
https://newsdone.ruhttps://dashnews.ru https://hundrednews.ru https://stacknews.ru
Mobile menu

Phobians Deloitte Marathon - History

Deloitte has been part of this fabulous race since 2002 and are obviously proud to be the main sponsor. Their involvement in this race together with Phobian’s Running Club, has been successful in making this race one of the best races in Gauteng.

The attractive and historic two-lap route takes in some of Pretoria’s most beautiful landmarks and is a popular, undulating and scenic race which also incorporates a nature reserve. The race is an official qualifier for both Comrades and Two Oceans.

The race presents its greatest challenge in the first half of the lap as the route steadily climbs up the Waterkloof Ridge on its way to Klapperkop Hill. The pull starts near the two-kilometre mark and goes on relentlessly for about four kilometres. The work put in here is well worth it as you are rewarded with breath-taking views of the Pretoria city centre and the surrounding mountains. The seven kilometre downhill charge is accompanied by the strident sounds of the Boys’ High Pipe Band. Once through the beautiful school grounds, at the 16-kilometre mark, it is time to think of the home stretch. Not too difficult, with an easy two kilometre run to the finish.

This is a well organised and scenic race, accompanied by music from Pretoria Boys High School Pipe Band, a traditional Scottish pipe band, established in 1971.

Pretoria Boys’ High School, designed by Sir Herbert Baker and a national monument, is the starting point of the race. The 42.2 and the21.1 km start at 6:00 am with the 10 km run or walk starting 20 minutes later.

Medals are normally awarded to all finishers with bountiful prizes awarded to the category winners.